Week 6 Artist Conversation: Ariel Maldonado

img_2405
Ariel Maldonado. Talk to Strangers. Ceramics. 12″ x 10″ 2017 CSULB School of Art, Gatov Gallery East 

I’m four years old at my first dentist appointment that I will ever recall. Maybe I’ve been here before. Who knows. I was probably too young before today to even remember. Im scared. I know I’ll cry in there. This wait is so long and Im getting bored. My mom keeps telling me that we have to wait before I go in and walk into the big door. She says I’ll get a prize like a toy or toothbrush once its all over. I hate waiting, we’ve been here for hours. Theres some toys here on the table for the kids to play with. There was only one other kid here but they already got to go behind the big door to see the dentist. I think I’m going to play with this toy here where I move the little rings across the squiggly bar structures. Its kind of fun. But what if I get bored while playing with it, what if i get tired of it and want to play something else?

Im hungry now but my mom says I can’t eat the gold fish snacks in her purse until we are done here. I hope I don’t get any teeth taken out. My other doctor says that my teeth will start falling out when I go into kindergarten. I don’t want to go to kindergarten, I want my teeth to stay in my mouth. Why do they need to fall out? That scares me. Oh no! I must go now they just called my name. Ill tell you later what happens behind the big door.

Leave a comment